Pavlova, take 4

Possibly it was a touch of guilt at going away again so soon after the last trip, and knowing how much L likes pavlova, that made me try another recipe before I left. This time I resorted to the good old Edmonds’ Cookbook. They did talk about using an electric mixer, which I didn’t, ‘cos I don’t have one. And anyway, I doubt our grandmothers employed that particular gadget. So good old hand beating for me. And I’m sure the result wasn’t materially affected. But the problem with this recipe – IMHO! – was the instruction to bake at 150 C. It hadn’t been long in the oven when I smelt burning. Rushed to have a look, and decided that I’d be having a King Alfred moment if I left it like that. So, turned off the oven, opened the door to let some of the heat escape, and then let it resume. It turned out okay, anything meringue-like and smothered in whipped cream and fresh berries couldn’t be anything other! But it did sink somewhat, which I’ve decided was a result of too much heat at the beginning. Anyway, with that caveat based on my experience, here’s the recipe. I’ve omitted the electric beater references.

3 egg whites

3 tbspns cold water

1 cup caster sugar

1 tspn vinegar

1 tspn vanilla essence

3 tspns cornflour

Preheat oven to 150 C. Beat egg whites till stiff. Add water and beat again. Add sugar very gradually while still beating. Slow beater and add remaining ingredients. Line an oven tray with baking paper. Draw a 22 cm circle on the paper. Spread the pav to within 2 cm of edge of circle, keeping as round as possible. Smooth top. Bake for 45 minutes, then leave to cool in oven. Decorate. Eat.

Anyway, I reckon I have one more pavlova in me before I give up.

Leave a Reply

