Deboning a duck

The final challenge for Julie Powell when she worked through Julia Childs’ Mastering the art of French cooking was de-boning a duck. Probably a very satisfying thing to achieve, but not something I can ever imagine wanting to do myself. However, it is true that one of my favourite meals of all time featured a boned duck. It was in Cambodia, at a wedding. Memory tells me this dish was brought to the table, a complete cooked duck. Head in tact. But only when you cut into it did you realize it was boned and stuffed with white beans, the whole dish steamed to perfection. One of those occasions where you think, I could eat ALL of this … but you’re a guest at a table with others … reluctantly you share. I think, actually, that if someone could tell me more about this dish, and how to make it, I’d grab a copy of Mastering the art of French cooking and tackle de-boning a duck.

Leave a Reply

