Winter puddings: Bakewell tart

Winter, so a time for puddings. And the leek stew the other night put me in mind of English food, English cooking, and (for some reason) Bakewell tart. Something I’ve only ever made once before, many many moons ago. And this, I have to say, wasn’t quite as I remembered it … the problem, I think, that I used too large a flan dish (but the only one I have) & didn’t adjust the recipe accordingly. All the same, it disappeared pretty quickly, so the taste must’ve been okay.

225 gms puff pastry

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

100 gms melted butter

100 gms caster sugar

50 gms ground almonds

2 level tbspns raspberry (or any) jam

Roll out the dough to line a deep 7 inch (loose bottomed, ideally) flan tin. Beat eggs & yolks together, add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Spread the bottom of the pastry case with jam & pour on the egg mixture. Bake at 200 C for 30 minutes. 

 

I wondered, actually, whether beating the egg whites separately & then folding in would have been a good idea. Whether it would have given a lighter, better risen topping. Homework required on this, clearly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

