Black olives

A jar of black olives in the fridge, and suddenly I noticed a bit of mould forming. Not the sort of thing you expect with olives … I mean, aren’t they pickled & preserved & stuff? But anyway, a call to action. Carefully skimmed off the unwelcome growth & threw out the top couple of layers. Food processor out of the pantry, to blitz …

1 cup pitted black olives

a couple of garlic cloves, crushed

½ a dozen anchovy fillets

2 tbspn capers

… and a short time later, tapenade.

 

Not quite sure how I’ll use it all, but it should keep in the fridge for a little while. Although I did use some immediately, in yet another Annabel Langbein dish … her beef niçoise … I suppose tomorrow I’ll discover whether or not I should have discarded the whole jar of olives!

Leave a Reply

