Garden maintenance #2: Turning into my father?

This growing gardening obsession makes me worry I’m turning into my father! I’ve been looking at the hedge on our western boundary & thinking about getting it trimmed, lopped in height by a couple of feet or so. And why would I do this? Oh, to make sure the vegetable garden gets a bit more of the afternoon sun! For years I’ve railed against my father’s war on trees. In Wadestown, he cut back a beautiful magnolia; at Tahuahua he butchered (to my eyes) a grand old rhododendron – in both instances, all to give a bit more light on his veggies. Oh dear, they say we turn into our parents as we age.

Leave a Reply

