Garden maintenance #1

Deciding to eat seasonally does require some sort of commitment to keeping the garden going. So for the past 10 days or so I’ve been working on keeping it productive. New plantings of lettuce and mesclun to keep me going for the rest of the summer and into the autumn. Thinking ahead, plantings of silver beet and cauliflower, and a second lot of carrots. I must get a row of leeks started soon, too. Such a great winter vegetable, but the question is where to squeeze them in in our small garden. The peas are about to come out … maybe  I’ll do that tomorrow morning … they’ve produced well for about 3 weeks, but are just about finished. Tonight was the last night I’ll harvest peas straight from the garden into the pot … I’ve shelled and frozen those that were excess to requirements, but it won’t be the same. However, I don’t think I’ll put the leeks there, maybe where a few excess lettuce are. Ah, decisions!  

Leave a Reply

